



MINUTES OF SPEN VALLEY DISTRICT SCOUT COUNCIL AGM 21st June 2023 at FHTC

1. WELCOME

The Chair, D Kelly welcomed everyone to the meeting.

2. ATTENDEES

List of attendees and apologies retained for records.

3. MINUTES OF LAST MEETING

Minutes of last meeting were approved.

4. ANNUAL REPORTS

The annual report and accounts have been circulated in advance of the meeting.

5. FINANCIAL REPORT

The accounts are in a good position.

Expenditure is higher than income due to the porch extension to the centre. We received a number of donations:

£20K from Kirklees 9th and 11th Spen Valley M+S interiors John White Tesco

There has been an increase in charges across the site due to the increase in utilities.

A copy of the yearly accounts were presented to the meeting and adopted.

The meeting thanked David Taylor for once again auditing the accounts.

The Chair thanked the Treasurer for all of his work over the past year.

6. Approval of District Constitution: The chair outlined the reasons for the new constitution. All in attendance agreed to adopt.

7. DC's REPORT

A full report distributed at the meeting as part of the Annual Report and Accounts.

The DC stated that everyone had had the report and accounts electronically and urged everyone to read them as a lot of work has gone into their preparation.

There had been lots of work on site and the facilities have been used regularly by all sections in Spen Valley.

We need to remember that the District is more than Fan Woods. Thanks to Michael for driving the opening of the 2 squirrel dreys. The 9th SV have transferred to the 4th SV and are also supporting the 3rd.

There is still a struggle for leaders and we need to work collegiately together.

All the ADC's are doing an excellent job

Thanks to Sarah for all her work in supporting my role and for all her work as booking secretary. David Kelly advised the members that the District was advertising for a booking secretary.

District Commissioner's nomination of District Chair Dr David Kelly was proposed and approved.

The Chair, Dr D Kelly, then took over the running of the meeting.

8. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

District Commissioner's nomination of District Secretary Sarah Sowden was proposed and approved (no other proposals received).

District Commissioner's nomination of District Treasurer Richard Terry was proposed and approved (no other proposals received).

District Commissioner's nomination of members for Executive Committee as set out below were proposed to the meeting and duly appointed:

M Terry (DDC)

D Hirst

C Rhodes

B Midgley

The following were proposed, seconded and duly elected to the District Executive:

Election of Executive Members

Beaver rep — Becky Holroyd — proposer Jo Buckham, seconder Michael Holroyd Cub rep — Lesley Austin- proposer David Sowden, proposer Sarah Sowden Scout rep — Josh Newlands- proposer Xavi Fishwick, seconder Gemma Shearer Member — Neil Smith — proposer Don Davidson, seconder Robert Jackson Squirrel rep— Michael Holroyd — proposer Amy Morton, seconder Amie Curley Appointment of Tony Bannister as co opted member for census and membership records.

9. ELECTION OF AUDITOR

D Taylor re-elected as District Auditor.

10. COUNTY REPRESENTATIVE- Phil Pearson

Thanks to the Exec for keeping everything going. Thanks to all the leaders who give up their time on a weekly basis for the young people, giving them the opportunities to grow new skills. Spen Valley is a strong and financially stable District. It is one of only two Districts that has a band and it is good to see Carl recovering well. I have seen the District at County events with a number of leaders on the management teams.

The welcome team has been a positive change with the change in volunteer titles hoping to put forward a positive approach to leader recruitment.

The squirrel leaders are keen to work with this age group and hopefully numbers will grow. Thank you for the invitation to your AGM and good luck for the year ahead.

11. Awards

5 year 20 year 30 year Faye Bisby Robert Jackson Pat Trueman

Caroline Rawlins David Denham

Samuel Harris Stephen Roberts Helen White James Tuke

Wood beads- change of role Michael Holroyd Rebecca Holroyd James Tuke- wood beads Faye Allison Sarah Ashton

Yvonne Graham

The Chair thanked everyone for coming and looked forward to meeting everyone at future events.